slowfoot records oren marshell

Kit Mix #31 // Slowfoot Records

In his own words, Frank Byng’s pioneering South-London label Slowfoot Records “explores the boundaries between popular and experimental music”. We’ve been in love with the artists orbiting Slowfoot for years, beginning with the bonkers, life affirming music of Seb Rochford, and moving on to the post-everything crunch and jazz swirl of Crewdson and Hello Skinny. Naturally we were delighted when Slowfoot crew member and double bass player Huw Bennett agreed to put together a mix for us, which features some exclusive unreleased Slowfoot tracks. Enjoy!

Hello Skinny – Aquarius [Slowfoot Records]
In-demand drummer Tom Skinner’s solo project
Snorkel – Dead Skin (Crewdson Remix) [Slowfoot Records]
Slowfoot Records house band Snorkel, featuring label boss Frank Byng on drums
Bambooman – Sun (Eckoclick Remix) [Sonic Router Records]
Eckoclick are a duo consisting of Slowfoot’s very own Hugh ‘Crewdson’ Jones, and Ultraista frontwoman Laura Bettison
Sebastian Rochford / Pamelia Kurstin – Hop [Slowfoot Records]
Polar Bear’s Seb Rochford and theremin virtuoso Pamelia Kurstin, mixed by Portishead’s Adrian Utley
The Grip – Akron [Slowfoot Records]
An unreleased track from a new signing to Slowfoot – The Grip are a trio led by Finn Peters, featuring fellow Slowfoot alumni Tom Skinner and experimental tuba player Oren Marshall
Sebastian Rochford / Jehst – Seven Nine Zulu (Hello Skinny Remix) [Leaf Label]
A Hello Skinny remix for Leaf, released on Seb Rochford’s Take Away series
Crewdson – Stanner Nab [Slowfoot Records]
New, unreleased material from Crewdson, set to emerge early 2014
Bass Clef – Strings Of Death [Magic and Dreams]
Ralph Cumbers has been long-associated with Slowfoot, performing at many of the label’s promotions, as well as playing trombone and electronics in Snorkel
Monkey Puzzle Trio – Rook, Knight, Bishop [Slowfoot Records]
A trio featuring This Heat drummer Charles Hayward
Crackle – Heavy Water [Slowfoot Records]
Again featuring drummer and label chief Frank Byng, together with members of Slowfoot’s Monkey Puzzle Trio and Snorkel
Owiny Sigoma Band – Owiny Techno [Brownswood Recordings]
An incredible project featuring the talented Tom Skinner and two of Kenya’s finest musicians
William Adamson – Burial Blues [Brownswood Recordings]
Rob Gallagher (Galliano / Earl Zinger), joined live by Crewdson (electronics) and Huw Bennett (double bass)
Snorkel – Stop Machine (Slowfoot Records)
Robert Logan – Budapest [Slowfoot Records]
Robert has worked with Brian Eno and Grace Jones producer Ivo Guest on many projects
Sons of Kemet – Inner Babylon [Naim Records]
An absolute favourite of Slowfoot’s right now, featuring Shabaka Hutchings, Oren Marshall, Tom Skinner and Seb Rochford. Recent MOBO winners for Best New Jazz Act
Oren Marshall – Track 6 [Slowfoot Records]
Tuba madness

slowfoot records oren marshell

Slowfoot news: Be sure to check out Crewdson playing a free gig put on by ourselves at Catch Bar on Nov 21. Hello Skinny is performing with Matthew Herbert at the Queen Elizabeth Hall on Nov 22, as part of The London Jazz Festival. Finally, exciting new albums from The Grip and Robert Logan are out in early 2014.

Leave a Reply